24 February 2013

A Date For Your Filofax - Sunday 3rd March 2013

New York

London

Paris

Sydney



We are going to run another conference round-table voice chat using Skype.

I'm sure we are gradually getting to know each other's voices, but I will make a point of going 'around the table' to get everyone to introduce themselves this time.

So...When, Where, What, Who and How?

When? - Sunday 3 March from 9am London time, 10am Paris time and 8pm Sydney time.  Additionally I will be on line at 10am (US East Coast time), 3pm London time, 4 pm Paris time etc.  See the clocks at the top of this post to see roughly what time you should be on line.

Where? - an on-line chat using Skype.

What do I need? - just a micro-phone and some head phones(in ear phones work fine) and a free Skype account. Using headphones reduces 'echo' on the call.

Who - All of you... connect up with Philofaxy and we will attempt to get as many of us linked in to the audio conference as possible. Come and listen if you don't want to chat.  What do we talk about? Filofax stuff... but anything else as well. It's like long lost friends meeting up for coffee and a catch up.. but don't worry if you have never joined in before... you are an old friend too!

How -
  1. Connect to Philofaxy by firstly searching for Philofaxy in Skype, I will then add you as a contact.
  2. Then  'Start Chat',  I will then add you in to the chat room. 
  3. Then if you request it, I can add you to the audio conference as well. But if you just want to chat via keyboard that's fine. That way it's slightly less hectic for me! 
Come and join in the fun, even if you only pop in to say hello...

As with previous round-tables there will also be a parallel text chat room going at the same time as the voice conference, so you can listen to the voice chat and type if you wish.

If you need any assistance setting up Skype, please pop a comment in this post and I will try and help you get one line. Skype is free for computer to computer calls....

Here is my post on how to improve your Skype audio with headphones or a headset.

Hope to be chatting with you on Sunday 3 March 2013

11 comments:

  1. So, if I type a "hello" to y'all at the proper time--then I don't need to be an audio participant, but I can still be in as a text one?

    Can I hear the audio portion that way, just not talk?
    Thanks!

    Linda

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Linda
      Yes you can listen to the voice part without joining in. Just mute your microphone in Skype, and carry on typing!
      Steve

      Delete
    2. Hello,
      I was online at 10am (eastern time,canada)but I seemed to be alone.... is there something I don't know that I must do??

      Hope to catch the chat next time!

      Tina

      Delete
    3. We are still on line. Search for Philofaxy on Skype
      Steve

      Delete
    4. Hello,

      I tried to connect at 10am Eastern Standard Time....but seemed to be alone.. Is there something I should have done that I am not aware of??

      Hope to catch you guys on the next chat! :)
      Tina

      Delete
    5. To join the chat you need to be in the contact list. So search for Philofaxy and I will add you when you send a contact request

      Steve

      Delete
    6. Tina please email me your Skype user name, so I can check that you are not already on our contact list. The other thing to check is to make sure you are shown as 'On-line' when you come on line in Skype. Otherwise we don't know who is around to add to the conversation.

      Delete
  2. May have to lock myself in my office to keep the boys out :-)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Got the clocks back in line! Not sure what happened to my code!

    ReplyDelete
  4. So, basically the Skype is from 10.00 to 16.00 h (Paris time)???

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not quite I will be taking a break for lunch...and to let my voice recover!

      Delete

Related Posts with Thumbnails