24 April 2011

A Date for Your Diary - 1 May 2011

We are going to run another conference round-table voice chat using Skype. The last one was a great success  and possibly the longest we have run.

I'm sure we are gradually getting to know each other's voices, but I will make a point of going 'around the table' to get everyone to introduce themselves this time.

So...When, Where, What, Who and How?

When? - Sunday 1 May from 12noon (US East Coast time), 5pm London time, 6 pm Paris time 11pm Jakarta etc. Times here for your city/time zone

Where? - an on-line chat using Skype.

What do I need? - just a micro-phone and a free Skype account.

Who - All of you... connect up with Philofaxy and we will attempt to get as many of us linked in to the audio conference as possible.

How -
  1. Connect to Philofaxy by firstly searching for Philofaxy in Skype, I will then add you as a contact.
  2. Then  'Start Chat',  I will then add you in to the chat room. 
  3. Then if you request it, I can add you to the audio conference as well. But if you just want to chat via keyboard that's fine. That way it's slightly less hectic for me! 
Come and join in the fun, even if you only pop in to say hello...

As with previous round-tables there will also be a parallel text chat room going at the same time as the voice conference.

If you need any assistance setting up Skype, please pop a comment in this post and I will try and help you get one line. Skype is free for computer to computer calls....

Hope to be chatting with you next Sunday.

10 comments:

  1. Yay! I am really hoping to make this one!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I hope I'll be able to make it as well, I'd love to chat with everyone!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Looking forward to popping in for a visit! My kids might not "let" me talk, but I will try.

    11 a.m. CST, 12 p.m. EST, yes? :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sandra- I might be wrong, but I think it'd be 11 p.m. on April 30 for Central Time.

    ReplyDelete
  5. No it's AM, not PM.... The US is behind GMT not before it....

    If you are confused about the start time, check out the time here:

    http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/

    I'm generally on line about an hour before the due start time as well as in the days running up to the chat.

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's 11 AM CT, 12 PM (noon) ET. 12:00 noon is when AM changes to PM.

    And yes, the US is behind GMT, which is why some American TV networks are starting coverage of the royal wedding at midnight the night before, for the viewers on the U.S. West Coast!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh no! Yet again I miss it because I am too busy gardening! Bleugh!!!

    sorry guys - I meant to make it this time. Harumph.

    Maybe next time?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Amanda we are still on chat
    Steve

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts with Thumbnails